Prof. Levent Gürel received the Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics.

New book from IEEE Press and Wiley: The Multilevel Fast Multipole Algorithm (MLFMA) for Solving Large-Scale Computational Electromagnetics Problems.

Another achievement in the series of world record: More than one billion unknown solved.

Prof. Levent Gürel received 2013 UIUC ECE Distinguished Alumni Award.

Prof. Gürel is elevated to ACES Fellow Grade.

Prof. Gürel is invited to address the 2011 ACES Conference in Virginia, USA, as a Plenary Speaker.

Prof. Levent Gürel is named IEEE Distinguished Lecturer.

Prof. Levent Gürel is elevated to IEEE Fellow grade

Unlock Intranet

powered by

2015 Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society established the Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics to recognize the past technical accomplishments and future potential of an outstanding contributor to the area of Computational Electromagnetics. The 2015 award was presented to Prof. Levent Gürel "For pioneering contributions to the accurate solution of large-scale electromagnetic problems via integral equations, parallel computing, and fast algorithms."
Prof. Levent Gürel was presented the award in Vancouver, Canada, at the Awards Banquet of the IEEE APS/URSI Symposium in July 2015.
2015 Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics was presented to Prof. Levent Gürel by Prof. Roberto Graglia (President of the IEEE APS) and Prof. Michael Jensen (President-Elect of the IEEE APS).
In his speech, Prof. Gürel honored his teachers Prof. Roger F. Harrington (through his books), Prof. Raj Mittra, Prof. Weng C. Chew (his former Ph.D. advisor), Prof. S. W. (Andy) Lee, the late Prof. S. L. Chuang, the late Prof. Paul E. Mayes, and the late Prof. Y. T. Lo.

Who is Harrington?
Roger F. Harrington was born in Buffalo, NY, USA, on December 24, 1925. He attended the public schools in that city and enrolled in the undergraduate program in Electrical Engineering at Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY in 1943. His education was interrupted from 1944 to 1946 for service in the U.S. Navy during World War II as an Electronics Technician and as an Instructor at the U.S. Naval Radio Materiel School, Dearborn, MI. He returned to Syracuse University after the war and earned the B.S. degree in 1948 and the M.S. in 1950, both in electrical engineering. From 1948 to 1950 he was employed as an Instructor and Research Assistant at Syracuse University. In 1950 he began his studies for the Ph.D. degree at The Ohio State University, Columbus, obtaining the degree in August 1952. The title of his dissertation is “Solution to some electromagnetic boundary value problems”. Victor H. Rumsey was his dissertation advisor.
To learn more about Prof. Harrington, please see "A Tribute to Roger F. Harrington" prepared by Professors J. R. Mautz and E. Arvas.
Prof. Roger F. Harrington published the following three books in 1958, 1961, and 1968:

Who is Mittra?
Raj Mittra is Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department of the Pennsylvania State University. He is also the Director of the Electromagnetic Communication Laboratory, which is affiliated with the Communication and Space Sciences Laboratory of the EE Department. Prior to joining Penn State he was a Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois in Urbana Champaign. He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a Past-President of AP-S, and he has served as the Editor of the Transactions of the Antennas and Propagation Society. He won the Guggenheim Fellowship Award in 1965, the IEEE Centennial Medal in 1984, the IEEE Millennium medal in 2000, the IEEE/AP-S Distinguished Achievement Award in 2002, the AP-S Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award in 2004 and the IEEE Electromagnetics Award in 2006.

Who else received this award?
Prof. Donald R. Wilton (Emeritus, University of Houston) was the first recipient of the prestigious Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics in 2014. Prof. Levent Gürel is the second recipient in 2015.

Who is Prof. Wilton?
Donald R. Wilton received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA, in 1964, 1966, and 1970, respectively.
From 1965 to 1968, he was with Hughes Aircraft Co., Fullerton, CA, USA, engaged in the analysis and design of phased array antennas. From 1970 to 1983, he was with the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Mississippi, University, MS, USA, where he attained the rank of Professor. From 1983 to 2012, he was a Professor of electrical engineering at the University of Houston, Houston, TX, USA, where he currently holds the title of Professor Emeritus. From 1978 to 1979, he was a Visiting Professor at Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, USA. During 2004 to 2005, he was a Visiting Professor at the Polytechnic of Turin, Italy, the Sandia National Laboratories, and the University of Washington. His primary research interest is in computational electromagnetics, and he has published, lectured, and consulted extensively in this area. He is listed at ISIHighlyCited.com as a highly cited author in the area of computer science.
Dr. Wilton is a Life Fellow of the IEEE and received the IEEE Third Millennium Medal. He has served the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation , as a Distinguished National Lecturer, and as a member of its Administrative Committee. He is also a member of Commission B of the International Radio Science Union (URSI), in which he has held various offices, including Chair of U. S. Commission B. He is also a member of the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) and received that Society’s Computational Electromagnetics Award in 2013. He received the 2014 IEEE APS Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics.